Poets logo

Protection Mode

I am crawling back into the cold...

By H.M. CantuPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Protection Mode
Photo by Zohre Nemati on Unsplash

I was holding onto your life line

Begging for you to see me

All I needed was some time

But you had to see me bleed

I gave you everything that was left

Gifted you with my broken fragments

Gifted you with this chaotic mess

I became your fragile project

I was holding onto your words

Hoping that I could trust them

I just needed to put away my swords

But you had to watch me scream

I gave you what was left of my heart

Gifted you with all of the black decay

Gifted you with these tragic scars

I became your tentative prey

I felt I stumbled into you

With such grace

But the collision was too aggressive

For your taste

That demon sparkle in your eyes

Is singed into my brain

How can I sort out the lies

When you're running from me again?

I have my guard back up

Crawling back into the cold

I'm turning everything off

I am in protection mode

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

H.M. Cantu

I am an independent author self published through Amazon under two pen names: H.M. Diaz and Hailey Beck. I write thriller, erotica, paranormal fantasy, and YA. My goal is to gain a bigger audience and become traditionally published.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.