Poets logo

Projection

We hate in others what we lack in ourselves

By Lauren VitoPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

You tried to kill the beauty in me

As you could not recognize it in you

You tried to put out my radiant light

To hide with your demons as they grew

While I was fighting and slaying mine

In the deepest holes of my battered heart

And the darkest corners of this shattered mind

You wished me your misery as your soul was torn apart

My sword swings and clanks, I tire, damn near break

Still you sit and point, "Look at her struggle, she's worthless indeed!"

Showered in blood, lo the slaughter in my wake

Prim and proper you sit, too afraid to fight, too afraid to bleed

You will answer to your demons 'til death

Whereas I've lain waste to every one in me

While you pretend you're in control with each agonizing breath

I've fought my battles, now I'm finally free

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Lauren Vito

Come with me, through all the wondrous worlds that flow through the web of Nothing and All in my soul... Mine are the stories of the universe... I am / You / are Me...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.