Poets logo

Professions Of Love

We Started Out As Close Friends

By Blue DymondPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Professions Of Love
Photo by Nevels Media on Unsplash

"To have and to hold,"

You were the best man, and I was the bridesmaid.

We were there as best friends

Enjoying their special day.

"From this day forward,"

I listened to them trade their special vows.

Professing their love and promising forever.

Then you caught my attention with your perfect smile

And in my heart, I felt this pressure.

"For better, for worse,"

Something was shifting, something was changing.

From kids we had built a friendship

Now there were cracks in our frame

And I just couldn't explain it!

"For richer, for poor,"

The way that I was starting to feel.

The way my throat clogged,

And the way my heart stilled.

I couldn’t breathe for a second,

I just couldn’t understand it-

How my feelings pressed in,

And the way lives were changing at their wedding.

"In sickness and in health,"

I heard their words professed to each other

And through your eyes I felt it just as clear.

There was a shift happening with new endeavors

And I couldn't help but ignore the fear.

"To love and to cherish,"

It took for me to see you on this special occasion

To see us through a different lens.

And so I had to somehow persuade you,

That we were meant to be more than friends.

"Till death do us part."

love poems
1

About the Creator

Blue Dymond

A little bit of everything from Psyche, to fiction, to poems. Come take a look around, we're all friends here!

Instagram: @thatgirlbluedymond

Facebook: Blue Dymond

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.