Poets logo

Proactive Pain

I’m an oldest daughter.

By Lark HanshanPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
2
Proactive Pain
Photo by Suzi Kim on Unsplash

Dad’s email says if the worst ever came to pass, he and Mom would be content with what they’d leave behind

I’m an oldest daughter

So, it falls to me to grieve before they’re gone

To worry about what-ifs

Raising my own awareness of concepts and medical terms I’ve never explored

Actively burying the fiery fear in my chest, scorching my heart, my ribs, my lungs,

Coping, crying in the shower, listening a little too intently when they say something feels sore

Tapping my feet, jiggling my knees under the desk when at work and Mom texts me photos of food, because I need to take that moment in

I’m an oldest daughter

Opening into a new stage of life and yet the child inside of me shakes

No one lives forever, but sometimes I wish Mom and Dad could.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Lark Hanshan

A quiet West Coast observer. Writing a sentence onto a blank page and letting what comes next do what it must.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test5 months ago

    very powerful poem that will resonate with many people.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.