Poets logo

Hereafter

You climbed the wall and looked in to see me.

By Lark HanshanPublished about a year ago 1 min read
4
Hereafter
Photo by Tim Cooper on Unsplash

But I love you

Oh, but I love you

The wall in my chest is built high

Ivy climbing through thick brick and mortar to sky

To feel the warmth of your smile

The wind of your whisper against the hair by my ear

‘Thank you’ for the smallest of things

You climbed the wall and looked in to see me

And when I lifted a brick to add to the pile

You jumped down to help me

Held a hand out to hold it with me

And helped me place where instead it could build something new

Something good

Something for me

And, if I wanted to, only if I really wanted to,

Something to share with you.

performance poetrynature poetrylove poems
4

About the Creator

Lark Hanshan

A quiet West Coast observer. Writing a sentence onto a blank page and letting what comes next do what it must.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 10 months ago

    This is a gorgeous poem with an inspiring message

  • Love, such an all-encompassing aspect of our lives that we tend to complicate the heck out of. What is it about the simplest things, those things that are free to give and share that humans guard themselves tooth and nail? Your poem captures the essence of true love: "And, if I wanted to, only if I really wanted to,/Something to share with you."

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.