Poets logo

Privacy Breached

Bracelet

By Hannah HooperPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
#photogenicpoetry

A bracelet, more like an anklet,

because freedom was too far stretched.

Not the elegant, delicate kind,

but a public shaming defined.

Defined by a GPS assigned,

to keep my tracks known; keep me confined.

Confined to the rules and curfews,

until my leash training is through.

Privacy stripped away,

do I dare go out or at home stay?

The rules and PO I must obey,

so no longer I’ll be enslaved.

For being a captive is a slave,

a slave to a piece of plastic.

Banded to my leg with elastic,

keeping track of how I behave.

I own my faults and failures,

consequences are inevitable.

I pray the courts show a little favor,

as my path has become a little straighter.

The tick and the tock of the clock,

brings me closer to the day the lock.

Will be cut from my ankle forever,

and freedom and I will again be together.

So, yes, losing something priceless requires bravery,

at times I may need to call up the cavalry.

To support me through this journey,

of partial captivity.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.