Poets logo

Prison home

Break free from the chains binding you down

By Fatima AlamPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
Save me from this comfort!

The steady blare of flashing headlights,

Channelled into my gazing vision as I,

seated comfortably within four walls

Of an air-conditioned metal object,

Often considered a luxury symbol.

The constant stream of headlights,

An intrusion into the impairment of my glare,

Equivalent to my personal struggles,

Wherein society serves as the intruding monster!

The persisting headlights, like the metaphorical representation of my daily living.

A constant gaze on my every move, every action, every decision.

They say lights guide you home...

But these lights guide me to enslavement,

A submission into an apparent moral path of goodness and righteous living!

The comfort of my luxury car provided anything but what it advertises for,

Trapped, trapped, trapped!

I gazed up into the distant sky,

covered with foggy clouds and a vague outline of another metal vehicle- an airplane.

Serving the same purpose of convenient transport, yet! The plane felt like a distant feeling,

Of power and liberation from these mangled chains of oppression and the false garb of connectivity.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.