Poets logo

Pride

what it means

By Jeremy WhitePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Pride
Photo by Cecilie Johnsen on Unsplash

What does pride month mean to me?

To me it is about connection

You can connect in a safe place

And be who you are.

You can be who you are without

Being judged.

Whether you are out or not

It is a time to be proud

Of whom you are.

I am really proud of the

Community I joined but something

Was missing.

Right before my second

Pride month I figured out

What the missing piece was.

I am excited that I finally

Feel complete.

I am also scared because

It will be like coming out

All over again.

This is the first time saying

This out loud.

I am not only gay but

Also, asexual.

I don’t know what that

Means for my life.

I know right now it

Feels like a weight has

Been lifted and I can finally

Truly be who I am.

Later I have a feeling

My life just got more

Complicated but that is ok.

I am who I am.

Have a great pride month

And embrace who you are.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Jeremy White

I am from a small town. I have grown up surrounded by woods. I love to Write. I started out with poems. I did not start writing stories until I joined vocal. Writing stories is really fun. I have a Bachelors in Psychology.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.