Poets logo

Pretty Words

Written for you but not for your eyes

By A. NguyenPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

Only you can evoke the painfully

beautiful emotion that string together

pretty words that never see the light of day.

Notebooks left collecting dust on the shelf,

letters neatly tucked away in a box

behind the coats and dresses, all

holding everything I've never said

spilled onto blank pages when

they should just burn instead.

❤︎

It wasn't supposed to get this far.

You weren't supposed to put

the stars in my eyes and color

my monochrome life with vivid hues.

When I close my eyes to seek

solace in dark silence, why is it

your hand that reaches out to me

to bring warmth I didn't want to know?

Where does that leave me when the

distance grows with each passing day

and even though you may be my "home"

I am nothing more that a "stop" on your way?

In my heart I know you'll leave an

asteroid-sized crater that I'll be left

to fill with my single pail and shattered

hope that after isn't as bleak as before you.

</3

The dancing flame at the tip of the lighter

looks enticing on occasionally stormy days

yet my heart couldn't bear to bring it to

the papers' sweet edges soaked in the moon's

beauty I could never ask you about, along

with others ways to express four letters I dare

not say. So the pretty words sit with remnants

of what little hope existed as I wait for

the feeling to be returned or rightfully die off.

Until then, I'll continue to sign every new

page with a little code that hides l-o-v-e.

sad poetryheartbreak
1

About the Creator

A. Nguyen

A writer at heart who wants to share my works. I want to evoke emotion in people when they read my writing but I won't ever know if I can, if I don't put anything out into the world so this is my first step :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.