Poets logo

Pretending's Enchanting Dance

Veiled in Pretense

By Mohammad Arie SetyawanPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like

In realms where fantasies unfurl,

A dance of masks begins to twirl.

Where shadows cast their playful spell,

I weave a tale, in pretense dwell.

With nimble steps, I don a guise,

A shroud of secrets, veiled disguise.

In make-believe, I find my might,

As I embark on dreams each night.

Pretending, oh, a wondrous art,

Unleashing visions from the heart.

I walk in shoes not truly mine,

In whispered echoes, realms align.

In dreams, I soar on feathered wings,

An actor in life's grandest flings.

I paint my face with vibrant hues,

Creating worlds I can infuse.

A jester's jest, a poet's rhyme,

I conjure tales in endless time.

The stage, my canvas, wide and vast,

Where dreams and truth entwine, at last.

Pretending, a mirror of desire,

Burning embers of a hidden fire.

I wear the masks that fit my role,

Exploring parts within my soul.

But be cautious, for pretense deceives,

In webs of falsehood, hearts can grieve.

For while I play in worlds unreal,

The truth, it yearns, its wounds reveal.

Yet still, in pretending's sweet embrace,

I find solace in an alternate space.

A chance to be more than what I seem,

To chase the fragments of a fleeting dream.

So let us dance in make-believe,

In realms where hearts find their reprieve.

For pretense, though a fragile art,

Can mend the wounds that tear us apart.

performance poetrysad poetrylove poemsinspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.