Poets logo

Pre-Apocalyptic Anxiety

Heads On The Radio

By sleepy draftsPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
13
Pre-Apocalyptic Anxiety
Photo by Tanya Pro on Unsplash

According to the news,

something is about to happen.

A meeting,

a call.

.

Something nuclear.

.

That's what people on the radio say.

July 11th.

Same day as my dentist appointment;

a day after the doctor's appointment I put off making.

I hope my teeth are OK.

I hope the world is, too.

.

There are still errands to run, taxes to file, clothes to launder.

I've gotten better at saving money, lately.

I want to have a house one day; I want to put my kids in sports.

(I don't have kids yet.)

.

Vatican City still has a chapel I'd like to visit.

Although I'm lucky enough to have seen the Wall of Tears.

My mother and aunt saved up for a bus tour next summer.

My friends have songs to be released.

I have stories to write.

.

Don't the people on the radio know?

There's no time for nuclear war.

There is so much life to live.

social commentarysad poetryfact or fiction
13

About the Creator

sleepy drafts

a sleepy writer named em :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Hayley Matto3 months ago

    "Same day as my dentist appointment; a day after the doctor's appointment I put off making. I hope my teeth are OK. I hope the world is, too." If that doesn't summarize Anxiety and the little voice in my head overthinking it all, I don't know what does. Having fun exploring your page!!

  • Taylor Neal10 months ago

    Love this so much!

  • Love this, the thoughts that would go on in your head if you got that news. All the things you have in life. That was excellent! Such a unique style you implemented there.

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    Really well-written, great message.

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    How well you captured what so many must be thinking and feeling. It’s definitely a scary thing to imagine. Makes you want to tune out of the news and just be taken by surprise!

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    That’s why I don’t listen to news, I make my own. You perfectly expressed the anxiety and even hysteria I often felt when I did care to tune in.

  • I loved this so much! I resonated so deeply with it!

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Absolutely fabulous anxiety poem!!! Loving it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Lena Folkert10 months ago

    Oh love, this is so relatable and full of fear without it seeming like it. Fantastically written. A great and beautiful commentary ❤️

  • C.R. Hughes10 months ago

    I relate to this so much. There are so many things I want to do in life still and even without the idea of the end of the world being upon us, my own mortality seems to be working against it. But hopefully, we all get to accomplish those things we want to before it's too late. Great work as always

  • Raymond G. Taylor10 months ago

    Great verse! Not sure whether to laugh or cry. Maybe a bit of both. Thanks for sharing

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.