Poets logo

Power

Of Spoken Word

By NystolgiaPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

Am I mad at myself

For the lack of records I've sold

Or do I care more about all the stories I've told

This period in my life is getting heavy and old

It's kinda like I'm blood soaked

Lannister gold

All of the victors seem to write out the code

Then they tell us to follow blindly

Like a centipedes toes

And lately I been doing the most

Gaining notoriety

And too humble to bost

But now

It's time to go with the coast

After this kick push your fiasco is toast

That's not a shot

I'm just climbing the poles

Until I'm on top with Kendrick and Cole

That's just the power

Of spoken word

The tongue is a weapon

Be cautious of what you heard

And repeat

Never repeat

The goal is better than before

And the only way to be better

Is bettering your core

That's just the power

Of spoken word

Speak it into existence

It's nothing if it's untold

I'm tryna break the mold

Befriending all of my foes

Focusing on the highs

Even when I'm low

Jesus take the wheel

Whenever the wind blows

It's pushing me to these rhymes

And manifesting these flows

I baffle my own mind sometimes

I'm too cold

My past italicized

And my future is bold

That's just the power

Of spoken word

Keep on calling me weird

You're normal

That's why she bored

Forbes

I don't need

I'm doing this for the sport

Jellyfishing with Patrick

Magic conch is my support

Never resort to violence

It's wiser to just abort

Only in America

Is it never your choice

The 45s a lot of noise

In the White House and the hood

All of these similarities

And yet nobody's understood

Like Ansem

The ransom

To shut me up

Is about a billion

Hov you know what's up

That's just the power

Of spoken word

I hope you heard

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Nystolgia

Nystolgia AKA Black Wall Street AKA Lil Mental Stress AKA Hold This I'll Be Back AKA Amun Ra AKA The Rapper Formerly Known as AKA

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.