Poets logo

Pour a Glass and Wait

There’s nothing to wait for anymore

By Crystal JacksonPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like
Pour a Glass and Wait
Photo by ali nejatian on Unsplash

I buy his favorite wine

And wait

I drink the white wine that I like best

Put cheese and crackers on a plate

His chair is empty

I watch the door

The threshold he will cross

No more

His favorite soda is kept

In my house

Snug between the juice and the milk

The only drink here

That never runs out

But sits waiting

Like I do

I don’t have the heart to say

He’s never coming back

For you.

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Crystal Jackson

Crystal Jackson is a former therapist turned author. Her work has been featured on Medium, Elite Daily, NewsBreak, Your Tango, and The Good Men Project. She is the author of the Heart of Madison series and 3 volumes of poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.