Poets logo

Potato Sticks

An ode to potato sticks

By Joe PattersonPublished about a month ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
22

If this snack was a drug I’d have to take a hit.

Life just ain’t life for me without a jar of potato sticks.

Trust and believe when I get em, I’ve got em’.

I don’t stop devouring the can until I see the bottom.

When potato sticks first caught my eyes I thought I was looking at snack style fries.

They might be little shards but they pack a big taste and they have a way of putting big smiles on a face.

They say don’t play with sticks. I didn’t but what about if I ate the stick?

That’s not a problem because I love my potato sticks.

Odeslam poetry
22

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Forspiya27 days ago

    People nowadays are really stressed so this is all for you https://vocal.media/poets/wings-of-resilience-a-journey-through-adversity

  • ROCK 27 days ago

    Congratulations on Your Top Story, Joe!

  • Anna 28 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Tiffany Gordon 28 days ago

    Fly & catchy! Congrats on your TOP STORY! 👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾

  • Ameer Bibi29 days ago

    Congratulations for top story 🎊🎊 amazing story about snacks and craving for snacks

  • Marsha Singh29 days ago

    Salty and crispy- the perfect snack!

  • Gerard DiLeo30 days ago

    Be careful, Joe. You can put out an eye with one of those sticks.

  • Mark Graham30 days ago

    I remember this snack. Loved them back when and now when I can find them. Great memories this snack brings back. Congrats on top story.

  • Christy Munson30 days ago

    You’ve taken me back to a long forgotten snack that I always loved finding hidden in my lunch sack. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Dana Crandell30 days ago

    Man, I used to love those! Thanks for the memory, Joe! These days, I buy Veggie Straws with sea salt, because they're, you know, "healthy." Once I open the "family size" bag, they're as good as gone.

  • Cathy holmes30 days ago

    This is great, Joe. We had something very similar. They look just like these, but they come in a bag. They're called Hickory Sticks. I loved them.

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    I forgot about those!! 😋 Nice job!

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Wonderful ode to Potato Sticks!!! Love this!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.