Poets logo

Postcard #1

A Poem

By Andy MelhuishPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I lost the dog again,

in the field where I always lose the dog.

Bright yellow plastic, I see

her three-metre lead

disappear into ditch water thicket

and for a while this is all I think of.

The urgency to find her

is mostly for discipline's sake,

there are no roads nearby

besides the M40 that panics constantly

on stilts in the middle distance.

It's only the day-glo that keeps her

from joining the ecosystem

of green and brown forever.

Living the ditch life I know

she dreams of when croissanted

on a lap at night.

I call her name again.

Wet-socked, stepping lazily,

wearing the tweed sky like a holiday.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.