Poets logo

Post Ironic Rain Day Observation

P I R D O

By Brenton FPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
9
Rain Up the Bush

i feel a drop hit my collar

roll down my neck

under my shirt

cold and uncomfortable

but nothing like the hurt

nothing like an old wound

with the top taken off

ripped open and laid bare

to everything

and nothing

all at once

exposed again

raw nerve pain

feel it all again

put it away for now

don’t pick that thing

that scabby little

rough bit

all made out of edges

nothing beautiful about it

just another healing wound

yeah…i'm just sitting in the rain

i’m getting wet

just a little bit

i’m getting soggy

all melty and cold

lucky i have arrows

on all my boxes

at home

to tell me

which way

is up

surreal poetrysocial commentary
9

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsden11 months ago

    just sit and marinate a while. it'll pass, at least, that's what I tell myself

  • Harmony Kent11 months ago

    Wow, Brenton, I can feel the hard rain… such a deluge of emotion in here. Well done! 🙂

  • An old wound with the top taken off. That's how I feel life is. That line was so deep!

  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    I have fun thinking I'm reading an underlying story in poems like this. I could be way off base but I'm interpreting old wounds and trauma, and perhaps a bout of PTSD in the moment spent getting soggy in the rain (and boxes that remind the speaker which way is up? gotta be related to ongoing flashbacks to trauma, right?). When the objective correlative comes shining through, I have to spend those extra minutes digging a bit deeper. This is a fantastic read, Brenton. I really enjoy reading your poetry. 😊💜

  • Andrew C McDonald11 months ago

    Wow. Melancholy baby for sure. Very nicely done. I felt the emotion and was sure a few tears were mingled with the rain.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.