Poets logo

Possession

a poem

By chillbaby5000Published 2 months ago 1 min read
5
illustration by chillbaby5000

I reflect light in glamorous ways without trying.

A diamond formed by unspeakable pressures and time

found alone and sparkling,

a surprise to those wallowing in the dark, scraping in the dirt having become numb to life.

They want to keep me, hoard me to themselves.

They forget I was no one's before them.

I belong to the earth more than to any one person.

It may have been fate that I was uncovered,

but you have assigned my value.

Let me be enjoyed without ownership

or slutted to the highest bidder,

but as evidence of blessing in the world, a fleeting mirage to behold,

as melody in the wind and horizons over water.

I am shared for a season, a moment.

Smile upon my transparent unmatchable beauty

and know with awe that I will live long after our time together

and I will still shine without you.

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreakFree Verseinspirational
5

About the Creator

chillbaby5000

chillbaby5000 was diagnosed in her late 30's with PTSD & Autism and is finishing a poetic account of healing trauma, depression, & rage.

You can support her ability to put out this book by tapping Tip, Comment, or by sharing her work.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 2 months ago

    Great work! 🇺🇸 well written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.