Poets logo

Positive Interactions Invite Individuals to Emerge From the Mass

Listening is my super power

By Brenda MahlerPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
Like
Positive Interactions Invite Individuals to Emerge From the Mass
Photo by Jaime Lopes on Unsplash

“Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.” ― Leo Buscaglia

As a public school administrator, a morning walk down through the halls provided a feel for the the mood of the student body and measured the pulse of the environment. On any given day, after shedding my purse, coat and storing my lunch, I strolled the halls greeting students with a high five, and questions about their previous evening.

Greeting the students allowed them to become individuals with possibilities instead of a mass of bodies without personalities and promise. As I came to know them I heard their voices asking to be noticed. In truth, they never spoke the words seeking acceptance but their eyes shared thoughts and emotions that were never voiced. Over the years, observations revealed children searching for their identities.

Each child had a story to tell. Anthony dressed in a red and white striped shirt, tight jeans, carried a backpack and wore black-rimmed glasses. Restraint and concern that students might pick up my chant restricted me from exclaiming, “Where’s Waldo!”

In the Eye Spy books, Waldo was forgetful and lost. He roamed the book and with each page turned dropped a personal belonging. Much the same, Anthony roamed the halls. Because of his impulsiveness, teachers repeatedly asked him to put his cell phone in his locker, and he often required redirection to slow down and keep his hands to himself. Anthony provided me a visual reminder that students are children searching for their place in the world.

Other students huddled in groups talking about everything and nothing all. Some sat on the floor, leaned against lockers and worked on homework they had neglected the night before. All had a story to tell.

I remember walking the school halls in my youth. The memories still haunt me because those times when I stood surrounded by a mass of bodies were the times I felt most alone. So as I walk the halls as an adult, I pray my smile offers inspiration, a high five provides support, and a simple question says I care. I observe and wait knowing each one has a story to tell.

Christie Ehlers

It will be nice to get away from these halls

eyes watch

mouths label:

Jocks, Goths, Intellects, Slackers, Players

Geeks, Gays, Hipsters, Preps, Gamers

It doesn’t matter to me what color people are

What they do or

Who they do it with

Grams says,

“Hearts like doors open with ease

When you say thank you

and if you say please.”

She also taught me it’s best to forgive,

“Do unto others as you

would want them

to do unto you.”

Grams is smart

for someone who never attended

school past fifth grade,

“A smile is the one thing that multiplies

when you give it away.”

So, I compliment other students

Thank teachers

Show kindness

Forgive

And smile

Jack Pitman

I like the challenges of life

Schoolwork not being a challenge

I observe the world around me — my domain

Watch for opportunities

to elevate my status among those

who think they are important:

Athletes, cheerleaders, Christians, Boy Scouts

They all follow the rules

granting others power

I always look adults in the eyes

Not because I fear them but to show that I don’t

My stares create suspicion

I know

Never turn my back to them

They never turn their backs on me

I talk little in a world that worships words

I may look ragged, however be wary

Looks are deceiving

With multiple watches on my right arm, I inspire

questions. But the answers are lies

The need to ask questions shows weakness

Time is controlled by

people who see relevance in the present

Body language is my mode of communication

My head nod offers acknowledgement

My handshake suggests promises

My words never incriminate

If I stay in your presence, it means interest

but don’t be confused, I don’t care

I withdrawal from a world that covets acceptance

In my world, the challenge is

the chance to make a deal to my benefit

Jenna Arnold

When I am with Bree,

I’ve learned to look confused

I know to dress like Sparrow

short skirts and crop tops

I watch. Peyton gets happy

when she’s the center of attention

I listen to whoever stands next to me

I nod

I stand in the middle of the group

unnoticed

My friends define me

creating my identity

Jesse’s attendance at my party

will cement my reputation

My bikini will assure

I’ll be remembered

Everyone will know

I am somebody

Unlike Dora Quick,

I am not a social fruit fly

By being with them,

I am one of them

Nick Eldridge

As an observant watcher,

I am excluded

and seclude myself

Boys walk the halls in packs

Acknowledge each other with nods

I follow a few paces behind

During lunch, I never eat

Instead, move slowly to merge

Seemingly a member of many groups

In the bathroom,

the walls hold my attention

No eyes reflect in the mirror

No footprints remain where I walk

The absence of my picture in the yearbook

goes unnoticed

like my absence of emotion

By being alone without attachments

I am one with many

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

These poems come from Locker’s Speak: Voices From America's Youth, a compilation of students’ thoughts and response to life experiences.

In the classroom, I observed human experiences that revealed pain and joy. I learned the art of being fully human demands we accept life with open arms and embrace whatever and whoever comes our way.

As a young teacher, I believed my job was to teach English. By the time I retired, I understood education is the process of learning to live life to the fullest while sharing compassion.

Read more thoughts from the voices of our youth. Order your copy of Lockers Speak on Amazon today.

Locker’s Speak: Voices From America's Youth

Image of the back of the book, Lockers Speak: Voices of America's Youth.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Brenda Mahler

Travel

Writing Lessons

Memoirs

Poetry

Books AVAILABLE ON AMAZON.

* Lockers Speak: Voices from America's Youth

* Understanding the Power Not Yet shares Kari’s story following a stroke at 33.

* Live a Satisfying Life By Doing it Doggy Style explains how humans can life to the fullest.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.