Poets logo

Porcelain

“Broken porcelain dolls are no fun to play with.”

By CatPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Porcelain,

you are cracking.

Your shiny tears are

breaking through.

-

Your sudden sadness is

quite surprising.

Your silly fears are

something new.

-

I’ve never seen you this

Un-attractive.

-

I don’t wanna be

beside of you.

I want a doll

that is far less reactive.

“Why can’t you be

who I want you to?”

My little porcelain,

when you weren’t sad,

you were much easier

to maintain.

-

You did more for me

when you were happy,

but damaged goods

are all that

remain.

-

You insist I put effort

into preserving

your precious smile.

-

I’m not well-adjusted

to all this labor.

For that

I haven’t

touched

you in a while.

“I’ve been borrowing dolls

from all of my neighbors.”

I see your skin

is starting to dull.

Your little tears

keep falling down.

-

The dust collected

on your

weary shoulders,

I can see

they are the reason why

you slowly frown.

-

You were so much better

happy.

So sweet and

beautiful too.

-

Now you’re just an object

I don’t want to deal with.

I’m throwing you out

for somebody new.

“Broken porcelain dolls

are no fun to play with.”

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Cat

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.