Poets logo

Polar Park Pews

An inverse outlook

By Tracy Kreuzburg Published 2 months ago 1 min read
1
Polar Park Pews
Photo by Ken Steele II on Unsplash

Seated on the crosswise bench
the stately man chewing tobacco
ogled and embarrassed
my young and patient mother

with my blanket drawn closer to me
seated on mama's skirted lap

predictably

he wasn't taught why it was wrong

paradoxically

though the nation obstensibly decrys rape
this man was well-regarded

except by women who knew him,
he was feared

*now read bottom to top!

Free Verse
1

About the Creator

Tracy Kreuzburg

I love reading, writing and storytelling, and using stories to convey truths. I feel this is a platform that will encourage me to write my stories, I also have an interest in connecting written work to art.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • J2 months ago

    Three cheers for shame reversal!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.