Poets logo

Poison

Nectar

By Vicious AvaricePublished 3 months ago 1 min read
Like

More than I want my heart to beat

More than I need my next breath

More than anything

I want to imbibe you

You’re poison, I know it

Toxic, degenerative and strong

You leave me weak, sick and wrong

It’s written plainly on the label

Always was

And yet…

The taste of you is the sweetest nectar

The most pure bliss

To drink you is to know honeyed heaven

And to put you back down

Is to know blackened hell

For that is when the corruption sets in

Right after the smallest sip

It boils my blood

Seizes my heart

And the pain tears apart my brain

Making me hate everything I am

While afflicted I gain clarity

And that delivers insanity

Even if I close my eyes tight

I can still smell your acrid scent

And when I open my eyes to peak

I remember the taste

And my thirst becomes unquenchable

Sweet, syrupy succor

Which coated all of my fears

In its pleasant paradise

A numbing, gelid goddess

Who ruins me in time

But I’d gladly give you my pathetic life

If you so choose to take it

And yet

Somehow

It’s my choice

As if any of us really has a choice

surreal poetrysad poetryheartbreakart
Like

About the Creator

Vicious Avarice

The ramblings of a man obsessed with fate. Poetry, quotes, and inspiration. I am a published author who rides the beast of imagination. A storyteller. Check out my children’s book “The Christmas Monster” on Amazon or wherever books are sold

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.