Poets logo

Poison

With the benevolent knife, I cut these words from my tongue

By Britt Blomster Published 2 years ago 1 min read
19
Poison
Photo by Alexandre Boucey on Unsplash

With the benevolent knife, I cut these words from my tongue

Deep breath in, I hold it down, keeping my scream in my lung

Blood drips from my mouth, raining from my lips

Ripped wide open, torn shreds hanging from fingertips

These cut words roll into a ball, lodging in my throat

These things I can not speak and can not be wrote

I swallow

I choke

I’m hollow

I’m broke

The acid breaks it apart, seeping poison into my bloodstream

Tainting all of my memories and murdering every dream

And still, I smile, knowing that this poison you won’t ever feel

I became the victim so you would have a chance to heal

This was originally posted on Medium.

sad poetry
19

About the Creator

Britt Blomster

I'm a writer, poet, storyteller and dreamer. I'm inspired by the world around me and channel that into my writing.

Blog:

Facebook

Instagram

Medium

E-mail: [email protected]

My Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.