Poets logo

Poetry Today

A Fly on The Wall

By Armand SlayerPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
3

In the humdrum of the 9-to-5 grind,

A fly on the wall, just a speck in time,

Trapped in the monotony of routine's embrace,

Yearning for freedom, yet bound to this place.

Every morning, the alarm's shrill cry,

Dragged from dreams where I could fly,

But tethered to desks, chained to the clock,

Trading my soul for a paycheck's mock.

I watch the world through office panes,

While inside, I'm shackled by invisible chains,

Dreams flicker, like distant stars in the night,

But reality's grip holds with all its might.

Bills pile high like mountains of stone,

Each paycheck gone before it's even known,

Debt and duty, they weigh me down,

In this cycle of life, I'm bound to drown.

Yet in moments stolen, in whispers of hope,

I glimpse a path beyond this corporate trope,

Where the walls are open, the sky is wide,

And I can spread my wings, no longer tied.

But for now, I'll linger, a fly on the wall,

Invisible, unnoticed, yet feeling it all,

A prisoner of circumstance, a captive of fate,

But someday, I'll break free, and soar to escape.

slam poetry
3

About the Creator

Armand Slayer

Hello there! I'm Armand Slayer, and I've been on a writing journey since I was 15 years old. Writing has been a constant companion in my life, guiding me through moments of introspection and emotional exploration.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 3 months ago

    Great poem!

  • Test3 months ago

    I was truly impressed by your writing; it resonated with me, and I couldn't identify any flaws. You're welcome! May your day on vocal.media be brimming with continuous smiles.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.