Poets logo

Poetry Prompts

“If this was a poem about_______, it would______, but this isn’t a poem about______, it’s a poem about_______.”

By Denise E LindquistPublished 5 months ago 2 min read
Poetry Prompts
Photo by Nellie Adamyan on Unsplash

If this was a poem about racecars,

we may see how there would be drag

car races talked about

there may be lots of guys to brag

and crashes of such cars

and I may want to shout

of this conversation I want out!

~

It would go on and on about places

of all the great races spaces

and the many different kinds of races

until I have my fill of all of this s_it

and go on to another subject and it

won’t be about any ol’ carraces!

~

But this isn’t a poem about racing

I have no race car or interest in that

I don’t even wear a race car hat!

I have cousins that are big race car

fans, they are near and far

to me and I will watch on my phone

occasionally when I am home alone.

~

So, it’s a poem about trucks

I drive an eco-diesel truck

I do not use gas rather diesel fuel oil

It is loaded and it can contribute to a spoil

of a woman. I don’t wish to give it up

so what is the problem then, sup?

Even though I get good mileage

the diesel fuel is pricey, and I watch my gage

like I never watched a gage before

It is getting old in 2024

~

It was first purchased in 2016

I have only had it for a year

it had 58,000 when I bought it

it has 68,000 now and it looks great

A beautiful color, no rust, it really is first-rate

so why get rid of it, I say as I sit

here looking at it!

~

It feels like a middle-aged crisis vehicle.

Did I miss that a few years back,

or is it only something men go through?

I don’t know, but I choose to enjoy while

I have it! I will stay on track

and keep it clean and cool and smile

all the while I’m enjoying the ride!

~~~~

Thanks, Emily, for the prompt!

About this poem: Just a fun poem to play with the prompt of “If this was a poem about _______, it would ______, but this isn’t a poem about ______, it’s a poem about _______.”

~~~~~~~~

First published by Write Under the Moon in medium.com

performance poetryFree VerseFor Fun

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    “If this was a poem about the money, it would be possible, but this isn’t a poem about my age, it’s a poem about my life.” Lol, I used text prediction to fill the blanks. Loved your poem!

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Fantastic!!! Loved this!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    Wow, you did so well with this, what a fun idea. Thank you for sharing.

Denise E LindquistWritten by Denise E Lindquist

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.