Poets logo

Poetry or Rhyme

About taxes and a few other things.

By Denise E LindquistPublished 25 days ago 1 min read
7
Poetry or Rhyme
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

The hubby and I were talking when I told him I hadn't written a thing today. All I did was work on the taxes all day! I said I was thinking I would write a poem or a rhyme to publish on this Sunday. I knew what he would say, but here goes mine and his say!

Should I write a poem or a rhyme?

Why not write a rhyme about taxes this time?

Okay, what rhymes with taxes

How about asses, masses, axes,

Well then, My hubby is one of those asses

He worked in the woods with axes

He never went to Catholic masses!

How is that? A bit anticlimaxes

Enough about taxes, no more waxes

on and on. I am done with these topics

I am going to watch Hallmark pics

Hoping to find something in the tropics

I will pick up the taxes tomorrow

Monday is a good day for sorrow.

Maybe I can finish and borrow

some money to pay them in the morrow.

Hahaha, enough of this now

Enjoy your evening, and I will take a bow!

humorFree VerseFor Fun
7

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran24 days ago

    Ugh, I gotta do my taxes too. But I would rather chop people with my axes! Lol. Loved your poem!

  • Mark Graham24 days ago

    Good one. Hate to tell you this, but I always got a refund at this time of year, there was only one year that I had to pay taxes and it was not that much. Good luck on yours.

  • Really a good one!

  • Wel-wrought and whimsicial! For taxes, I believe a good old curse is in order: Bubble, bubble, toil and trouble, taxation is theft, and should disappear on the double!

  • Ameer Bibi25 days ago

    You are doing great , amazing story keep it up

  • Babs Iverson25 days ago

    Fun read and you are gettthings done!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.