Poets logo

Poetry Night: My First Poem in 15 Years

I AM

By Patrick StewartPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Poetry Night: My First Poem in 15 Years
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

I thought I’d do something a little different tonight. Normally on Wednesdays, I always write a story in 10 minutes, and today I did. However, I wanted to write something for you, The Taoist Online readers too. It’s about 8:30 PM here in Fort Worth, Texas so I don’t want to keep you too long.

I used to write poetry when in my mid 20s and I even have a self-published book of my poems available.

So, being the sentamental kind of guy that I am, here is the first poem I’ve written in 15 years.

I AM

To my child I am everything

To the world I am nothing

To my mother I am a son

To my friends I am a ghost

To my dogs I am a master

To my computer I am a worker

To my job I am a manager

To Medium I am a Taoist

To Mastodon I am a creator

To the Tao, I am that I am.

Image created by author

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Patrick Stewart

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.