Poets logo

Poetry

defeated

By Catarina Da Costa RodriguesPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Poetry
Photo by vincenzo di giorgi on Unsplash

I have being defeated before, run over in the long hours

Of brickmaking, tied to the new wall and battered in wet cement

I have given up before, long after my hair was thick and dark

And my impolite fingers threaded the waiting times of the night

I have being guilty before of balancing in my so small nose

The powdered frogs of submission and comfort

I have failed and i have failed again and i have failed with no remorse

Unapologetic, a small body immersing in the rotundus sea of people

Like a used teabag, the soft boundaries blending in the pile of debris

That is the making of this sedimented life.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Catarina Da Costa Rodrigues

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.