Poets logo

Poetry books by POC

I’m sure you’ll find something that’ll “hit you” in these collections

By Jay,when I writePublished about a year ago 6 min read
1
Poetry books by POC
Photo by Trust "Tru" Katsande on Unsplash

It’s POETRY MONTH, so naturally I’ve been reading more poetry than usual. I’ve always felt iffy about poetry due to many making my eyes roll and getting me to say “what does that even mean,” or “Fake deep.” Don’t get me wrong, I always appreciate the poem in general and I understand there are different types and writers that I just may not connect with, while there are tons I will absolutely adore. I will never give up on poetry as a whole, especially because I write a bit of it myself (some that makes my eyes dolly and some that make me sa—)

Anyway, here are some collections I’ve read/am reading this month (since I’m not completely done with one).

1. Magical Negro by Morgan Parker

CW: alludes to Harrassment, SA, racism (at least this is how I interpreted these poems-the racism is definite), sex

This one was recommended to me by a bookseller, so to “Lauren,” thanks!

I knew the contents before opening the book (due to the title, the color of the book, and the locs Lauren rocked). I knew I was getting into something heavy that I would definitely relate to from being a Black NB (but automatically seen as a “woman”) person. I knew it would touch on topics such as:racism, feeling as though your body isn’t yours, and whatnot.

But, I didn’t know how sexual or beautiful it would be for sure, till I read it. It was both very upfront, and also able to not give everything away.

Some poems admittedly flew over my head, but I reread and understood them, even if I didn’t completely feel anything once deciphering it.

Some poems did that to me…

They made me take them in, but ultimately left me with just a quick thought before I moved on

But, then man were there others that really hit me. I found myself nodding and mmhmming often, but there were a few that just sat with me…

Ex.

Title: “NOW MORE THAN EVER”

This poem comes around the end, and I love its position in the book. A heavy hitter that sticks with you is needed at/around the end IMO (like in relay races).

It opens with

This is a phrase used by Whites to express their surprise and disapproval of social and political conditions which to the Negro, are usual.

-Morgan Parker

Now, if you noticed this opening did 2 things:

1. Talk about something that is quite true, and already sums up why it is frustrating to hear these words during horrible times that impacts everyone, not just us.

-this is when I thought of Covid and remembered hearing so many people act as if this country had ever shown they cared enough about us & our health

2. Pushes the idea of a “poem”

-the whole book has different types of poems. Some read like the beginning of an essay; they don’t flow or float, just talk their talk

That’s what I liked about the collection. Some made me go, “huh, yea that’s a different format for a poem,” but I really enjoyed them the most. Then again, I love essays more than poems.

I once took a class that made us look at unconventional poems, and some people argued that they didn’t count, while all I could think was, “if the writer says it is what it is, than why not let it be that?”

But more on that some other time!

2. A Summer Day in the Company of Ghosts by Wang Yin (translated to English by Andrea Lingenfelter & foreword by Adonis)

First, and foremost

HOW COOL IS IT TO READ A POETRY COLLECTION WHERE THE WRITER TELLS YOU THE DATE THE POEM WAS WRITTEN

secondly,

I haven’t finished this book and accidentally started out of order (sometimes I read this way with poetry books, but then I realized the dates and changed my route).

I chose this one because I am currently learning Mandarin Chinese and because I think it’s interesting + important to read books from people from all over + translated works.

I also love how they have the words in Mandarin Chinese on one side and English on the other, and how it shows work from her whole career. Like, that is amazing. It is nice to see the changes in years as it goes on.

It is beautiful so far, very flowy and expressive. I will do a formal review at some point (to go with another book).

Here’s a piece from:Limelight/Greylight

Butterflies wet with dew

are like the eyes of Heaven

-Wang Lin

See what I mean? They’re (so far) like pieces of clouds. I wonder how I would interpret and feel them if I spoke the language. That is always my thought when reading translated work; how would I have taken them in if I could read them in the first language they were written in?

3. The Hill We Climb by Amanda Gorman

This one is “An inaugural poem for the country,” (the cover of the book-it was recited at the Inauguration) and didn’t interest me right off the bat. It is a pretty short read, and I knew it would be “hopeful.” It is nicely written/spoken. No word feels out of place, and I like how it addressed how tough it has been in all. Though, Amanda Gorman is a beautiful poet, this one was not for me. I do, however, believe it should be listened to rather than read (if one can listen instead).

4.Call Us What we Carry-Amanda Gorman

Now this collection showed how much thought and care went into creating the poems and pages. Some poems are written sideways and on gray paper and on a black background. Some poems are one page long while others are longer. Half speak of hope for this country as a whole, while others speak more on how hard it has been, especially for everyone during Covid as it mainly talks about how people have dealt with that. “The world stopped” sort of feeling.

‘The Miracle of Morning’-Amanda Gorman

Cw: Covid

Focuses on mourning/morning. And playing around with that.

I did love how she applauded those in the healthcare industry who had to continue showing up for the world and putting their lives on the line for us all. They worked really hard and continue to do so, and must be supported. She of course nodded/applauded all of the essential workers, and I truly believe not enough of them get noticed for being the backbone of this society. So, in general, I really liked how she did not shy away from noting how we’ve all had it hard, and that we should not ignore those who had to work day in and day out for us during such scary times (or in all because scary times are all the time unfortunately).

Her poems are more “we got this gang” but she also acknowledges the tough feelings we have all had when Covid started and now as it is still here.

(I also like that she put other quotes from other writers in her book that related to her material)

So, there y'all go. There are some poetry collections by POC, and it turns out they are all women too (which I hadn’t really realized till I got to this part that I’m typing now).Don’t worry, I have way more collections to get to, but in the meantime: give these a go!

Happy poetry month! Thank you for reading. Don’t be a stranger. Peace.

social commentarysad poetryinspirationalexcerptsbook reviews
1

About the Creator

Jay,when I write

Hello.

What?

23, Black, queer, yup

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.