Poets logo

Poetry #2

Poetry from My High School Years

By Jasmine LassPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

Haikus

#1

Fingers twine softly

Around hair in swift motion

She is very pleased

#2

How quickly it moves

From autumn to winter in

This Minnesota

#3

Bitter cold sweeping

Fingers numb, body bundled

Winter brings its pain

#4

Joy like a fountain

A firework in the sky

Bright shine in my eyes

Poem #1

Sports had never been my forte

Basketball I couldn’t dribble

Baseball I couldn’t pitch

Volleyball I couldn’t hit

Soccer I couldn’t kick

Tennis I couldn’t whack

I always let my teammates down.

I left gym class with my face in a frown.

Until I learned I liked to run

Track was something I could do.

I didn’t have anyone counting on me

I was free to do my own thing.

And I found as I went on

How I could throw as well.

Now I had found a way around

Those team sports I despised so much.

Poem #2

I don’t know why the wind blows certain ways

I don’t know why the sky goes from night to day

Nor do I know how to not be Afraid

Of driving, or growing up

I do not know why the air turns cold

I do not know why love can turn to hate

Nor do I know how to

Pay for taxes, or for bills

But I do know how to survive

And I do know how to learn new things

And I soon will find that I do know

Just about everything

I need to know.

Poem #3

I eat my breakfast in the bed

Saturday morning spent with the internet.

Many hours later I will shower,

Washing away the laziness.

Put on the proper clothing and shoes

According to the weather outside.

Lace up the tennis shoes, zip up the windbreaker.

Put the dog on the leash, put in the earphones.

Blink at the sunlight, but push every emotion away.

It’s time to run today.

Poem #4

I tried calling you the other day,

Josephine

Your brother answered and it was music

To hear his voice.

But I longed to hear you, how are you?

How is school?

How is your new life?

Do you have many friends?

Your brother called for you,

And said it was me,

And I waited to hear your sweet voice.

But you replied in earnest,

Who is she?

Why, my girl, that she is me!

You don’t remember me?

It’s been only three months.

You don’t remember the girl,

Who hugged you tight?

Who you ran to whenever I was near?

The girl who gave you that purple jacket you love,

Who told you that you would be a beautiful

Grown woman someday?

But that’s fine, I suppose.

Why remember those trivial things?

They’re only old memories now that bite and sting.

Go grow up now, Josephine

And maybe someday, you’ll remember me.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jasmine Lass

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.