Poets logo

Poems on human nature

Facets of human experience

By Nikki AlbertPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Poems on human nature
Photo by Timon Klauser on Unsplash

THE FIRE

We all burn by our own blazing fire

Loved by passion’s bittersweet kiss

Toss ourselves into that joyful pyre

What a horror and bliss

Loved by passion’s bittersweet kiss

Thought but a whim; reason’s little knot

What a horror and bliss

Desire and passion are all we got

Thought but a whim; reason’s little knot

Toss ourselves into that joyful pyre

Desire and passion are all we got

We all burn by our own blazing fire

By Marina Vitale on Unsplash

HIDDEN

Hidden eyes and golden lies,

The song ends and the dance is done.

Everything within dies,

Nothing stays in the sun.

The song ends and the dance is done.

Silence endlessly loud,

Nothing stays in the sun.

Truth never allowed.

Silence endlessly loud,

Everything within dies,

Truth never allowed.

Hidden eyes and golden lies...

By Gursimrat Ganda on Unsplash

LIFE STORY

I didn’t know my spirit

It was all mine to control.

That there I had merit

In my very soul.

It was mine to control

My story and line of sight.

In my very soul

And there, my might.

My story and line of sight,

In my very soul,

And there, my might.

Was all mine to control.

By Tamara Gak on Unsplash

SURFACE

There you see,

the smiling me

A facade I created,

A game I concocted,

Just for you.

All of you.

Beneath the surface,

behind that face,

Is a silent scream,

And shattered dreams.

Just for me.

All for me.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Nikki Albert

I'm a fiction writer under the pen name Lily Hamilton and a blogger under my name. I live in Alberta, Canada with my common-law spouse and my cat. I'm currently on disability with fibromyalgia, chronic migraine disease and chronic vertigo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.