Poets logo

Poems

Father

By Anna EllisPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

What will I do in the hours after you have gone?

When you leave Earth for who knows where?

Will I think on regrets? Of time not spent and phone calls unanswered.

Of birthdays unattended and Christmas spent alone.

Of stories unshared and grandchildren unknown.

How will I remember you in years gone by?

When your spirit has long left and your body begun to decay.

Will I remember the Father I adored as a girl? Of hands that worked until rough?

Hands that worked to hold us or will I remember that they were the hands you used to control us?

Will I reflect on the times I made you proud?

Never for what I wrote but for the words I used in the heat of battle. The wit which you loved as I shot syllables toward you, ones you deflected when read from the page.

I know I will not see you again. But how will I feel when you are gone?

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Anna Ellis

I am a first nations writer, wool felt artist and theatre maker from Australia.

I'm also a Mumma of two small boys.

I've been writing and creating ever since I can remember and I'm exited to share with you all on Vocal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.