Poets logo

Poem 8

All these love songs make me think of you

By Hannah AlexanderPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

They say boys and girls can't be friends

You can look through the trends

That one will always fall for the other

Without ever looking at another

But when you share your thoughts

Are you connecting the dots?

Your dreams your aspirations

And so many frustrations

I just can't help but to think

*Was that a blink or a wink?*

Is it really without meaning to

Do you not have any clue?

That you want to spend your time with them

Doesn't matter where they're from

Even if you're worlds apart

They control the beating of your heart

And you want to know every thought that they think

Of you, your life, every penny going *clink*

What does it mean though,

When your friends say you have that glow?

"You two look great together"

"You know what they say about birds of a feather"

Being suggestive, playful even

Give you something to believe in

But I never wanted this

These dreams of marital bliss

I never wanted to think of someone

Those thoughts I'd even shun

But when love songs play their tune

I really start to swoon

But is it really love?

Or is it just sort of?

I have these thoughts that plague my mind

Warnings of romanticism and too high expectations that put me in a bind.

But why does their face always come to me

And give me a sort of glee

And why does every moment we spend

A moment that I never want to end

That being said

I still don't want to be wed

I want to have my freedom

Without having to need them

I want to do all sorts of things

Without any rings

And these feelings are getting in the way

Wait, that's not what I meant to say

I just don't want to feel this burden

Without getting my words in

And what I really want to express

In these words that I have suppressed

Is that I have these unknown feelings

And want to have a share in all your dealings.

So, I guess, there it all is

My heart deciding that it's all theirs

With no formal discussion

My heart decided to rush in

My brain left in the dust

Not knowing what to trust

So I guess I'll just sit here

With my thoughts none to clear

And imagine situations where

My heart isn't so easy to tear

When I know the end result

There's not even a need to consult.

It won't be the answer wants

These songs and everything else just being taunts

Of the ending that she wished

A reminder that her dreams are squished

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.