Poets logo

Poem 5

from my poetry collection The Flaw in my Plan

By Kait ThursdayPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

Did you not see

the curve of his smile?

The rhythm of his hip?

‘Twas madness for some.

My lover spasmed and my lover swayed.

My lover held me when I was afraid.

And I went down to look, didn’t go down to find.

I fell into darkness, but he didn’t mind.

Did you not feel

the ache in his frown?

The shiver in his touch?

‘Twas madness for some.

My lover spasmed and my lover swayed.

My lover whispered that he was afraid.

And I wanted to touch, never wanted to reach.

I could not learn what he had to teach.

Did you not hear

the scream from his blood?

The ripping of his limbs?

‘Twas madness for some.

My lover spasmed and my lover swayed.

My lover’s death knell made all men afraid.

And I went down to listen, never wanted to hear.

I sought him with longing but killed him with fear.

heartbreaklove poemssad poetry
1

About the Creator

Kait Thursday

I'm a poet and a novelist, but my friends call me a starving artist. I've been writing for twenty years and have no plans to stop. I post new content to Vocal every month, but I have ADHD, so remind me if I forget.

WordPress

Amazon

Instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.