Poets logo

Plucked

Words That Weren’t Mine

By Chance Garrett WilhitePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Plucked
Photo by Landon Parenteau on Unsplash

How vile, how wretched it is,

to watch words be pulled from my body.

Plucked, quickly and callously, they form a bloody pile in front of me.

Mangled.

Mine. But not.

Not mine.

Because

before I could have fully known those words,

or any,

before I could have felt them beating in my chest,

before they could be carried up from the depths of my lungs,

to the tip of my tongue,

onto my lips,

and before I could let those words be exposed to the world...

pluck...

pluck...

pluck...

the words exposed me.

And left me naked.

Should I just hand over my aching heart into grisly hands and whisper,

"Be gentle,"

even though I can already feel jagged fingers prodding it,

feel lustful eyes feasting on it,

all whilst I clutch it in my own chest?

Of course not.

But then you summon my speech.

Yank at it impatiently,

anxiously,

to leave me,

s-s-s-stuttering,

s-s-s-stammering,

gasping,

naked.

Plucked.

Now you’ve seen.

But not.

Not really.

Not mine.

Not me.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Chance Garrett Wilhite

writ·er | ˈrīdər | (noun): one who writes

Currently residing in Dallas, Texas.

"Let everything happen to you: beauty and terror. Just keep going. No feeling is final." (Rainer Maria Rilke, Go to the Limits of Your Longing)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.