Poets logo

Please

A Plea For Reciprocity

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
9

Introduction

This is a not completely positive poem which is unusual for me about the number of times I am asked to support people in various ways such as following pages or reading articles, which I often do, but when I ask for reciprocity it’s absolute tumbleweed time. Very often I will buy things and not even get an automated thank you. Then I get more from them and this time I just don’t respond.

I am unusually going to use a biblical quote which roughly goes:

“Do unto others as you would have them do unto you”

The good thing is there are people who do reciprocate, I have someone who goes through my work with a fine tooth comb and sends me a direct message with all my mistakes. I will not name them because there will be others who say why don’t they do that for them? They know who they are and know how grateful I am.

At the end of this is a piece by Judey Kalchik on reciprocity and a piece on my modus operandi.

I was going to do it as a villanelle but any strict format would make what I want to say impossible.

So here it is:

Ж֎Ж֎Ж֎Ж֎Ж֎Ж֎Ж֎Ж֎Ж֎Ж֎

Please Like My Page

That Is Fine

I Liked It

Will You Like Mine

Silence

Ж֎

Please Like My New Page

I Ignore

Please Like My New Page

Ignored

Please Like My New Page

No

Ж֎

Please Give Me Feedback

Here Are My Thoughts

Silence

Will You Give Me Feedback?

Silence

I Have A New Article

Please Give Me Feedback

My Silence

Why Are You Ignoring Me?

My Silence

Ж֎

Do Unto Others

As You Would Have Them Do Unto You

Then You Will Find

Something Close To Perfection

When We Work Together

We Can Build A Brilliant Future

Reciprocate

And You Will Be Appreciated

Ж֎Ж֎Ж֎Ж֎Ж֎Ж֎Ж֎Ж֎Ж֎Ж֎

A Conclusion

I am sorry for the free form of this but I could not fit this into any formal framework.

Here is Judey's piece on reciprocity and my modus operandi.

fact or fictionlistslam poetry
9

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    I always give everyone 3 chances to reciprocate by reading my work. If they ignore it all the 3 times, then I ignore all their work after that. It's just so frustrating when there's no reciprocity!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Well said, my friend!!!💕

  • Pam Reeder2 years ago

    Great article Mike. As you know I have pulled way back on my online presence. I wouldn't dream of asking anyone to do something for me that I wasn't willing to do in return. I'm so sorry this is happening to you. Hugs!

  • Dana Stewart2 years ago

    Nailed it. I’ve felt this way as well and you expressed those feelings. Good to know I’m not alone feeling this way. Good job!

  • I am retired, working part-time that sometimes is full-time. I use subscriptions to read and comment or heart on vocal. However, sometimes I feel like I am the only one reading subscriptions as until I post on Facebook Vocal groups, I see no reads! It is like night and day the reads on Vocal vs Medium. And you can tell people are reading as they highlight and comment (have a conversation sometimes) and clap. You can see who looked and who read. And how many of your fans read. I waffle about leaving vocal. I think the 232. I withdrew is about the extent of my value here. It will take me a year to get to 20. for my next withdrawal. Tips are nice but at a dollar or two a tip it will take me a long time to get any value from that. Especially when I want to turn around a tip right back😂 I have told myself it is an insult to give a tip right back. So, because I get more attention on Medium, I read more and spend more time there. It is only fare. It is about reciprocity. I decided for me it is not about the money. It is rather about learning to write. I have been reading for a very long time. About 63 years. I think I started to read at age 5. Some of the people who helped me initially on Vocal have moved to Medium and I continue to follow them there. I write both places and repost on the other site. Vocal used to take longer the Medium to publish but now they go right through on Vocal and take a bit longer on Medium. Still within a couple days. Thinking out loud here. Ignore it all if it isn't a fit.

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    This is frustrating. I understand that people get busy, but everyone should make an effort to reciprocate to the best of their ability. There are people whose work I skip over when I see it posted because I have read their stories and left thoughtful comments in the past, but the author couldn’t be bothered to even like the comment I left.

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    I hear ya.

  • I hear you Mike. It’s a real struggle :-(

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.