Poets logo

Please Forgive Us...

Villanelle from the Villains

By Kendall Defoe Published 8 months ago 1 min read
12
Please Forgive Us...
Photo by Albert Antony on Unsplash

I hope you forgive us all.

This planet is better than it might seem.

We don’t deserve to take a fall.

In our hearts, we made a call

To have you land; to live out a dream…

I hope you forgive us all…

You came, and our leaders tried to stall,

Hide your message, and deny what it might mean…

We don’t deserve to take a fall.

With the press and their praise, the ball

Was in your court, fair and clean…

I hope you forgive us all.

But fear is our legacy. Worst of all,

We killed a light, a glorious beam…

You didn’t deserve to take a fall.

Now, in outer space, you plan our downfall,

And I say this here, to save what has been:

I hope you forgive us all.

We don’t deserve to take this fall.

What if...?

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

sad poetrysocial commentaryheartbreak
12

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    This was so good!!i love this form, can't do it myself! 🔥

  • ThatWriterWoman8 months ago

    Dark! But brilliantly done! As Dharsheena said: very thought-provoking!

  • This was so profound and thought provoking! I loved it!

  • Sid Aaron Hirji8 months ago

    it's like the movie-The fifth Element-everything we create we destroy

  • Perhaps not all of us, but certainly some of us do.

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    Great job, Kendall. That subtitle really puts thing in perspective.

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Love this!

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    Great villanelle

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.