Poets logo

Platonic

A love that needs no explanation

By Noelle LeaderPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Platonic
Photo by ian dooley on Unsplash

I am warmest when I think of you

Laying with me in the cold, wet, grass at midnight

Numb fingers exchanging a bottle of something forbidden, grass-stained thighs pressed together

Exchanging secrets laced with love

Our world is burning and melting

Washing away and blowing to pieces

And whenever I feel I am disappearing with it

Your presence is the soft rope that I wind round my wrists

Every conversation is a surprising joy

A secret last cookie, waiting patiently for my searching fingers in the darkness of the jar

The cold nose of a kitten nudging me awake

Your name in my mouth is a honeyed spiced tea

Your laugh is the thick froth that slides down the glass of my soul

Your belief in me is its own religion

and you worship at my altar with a new convert's vigor

Our devotion is a mystery to all who know us

We see the looks, hear the murmurs

Invisible shoves against our backs

Determined to transform us into something they can understand

But what we have is better, is beyond what we have ever known

Our love will ever deepen and never grow

A river of comfort with a unknown depths we will never fully explore

I have no desire to solve any mystery, aside from how to make you smile every day until the end

No one deserves the pleasure of being loved by you, more than you

You ask nothing of me, and yet I want to give you everything

I want you to feel the magnificence of your sunshine

How by the light of you, I can see all of the other good in the world

I don't want jewels or vows

To take your name or bear your children

I only want to sit in the warm sand of your beach and bury my fingers in your shore

To let the cool rising tide of your joy lap against my toes forever

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.