Poets logo

Plateau Song

(Poetry or Posing?)

By Kendall Defoe Published 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Plateau Song
Photo by Ross Sneddon on Unsplash

Okay, more of my song lyrics. I kept this to myself for a very long time, but being back home for the holidays has forced me to review and think about what the year meant to me and where I would like to go in 2022.

This is a recollection of time spent in one of the cooler neighbourhoods of Montréal...and really, was it that cool?

Make of it what you will:

Your feet as my guide

Your face in my eyes

Your mountain behind you

Your cross white and hot

Your beggars’ hands like lampposts too close to the edge

Your markets and cafés always open and busy

Your friendliness and your open heart everywhere

Your endless nights guide me away

Your shape as perfect as a song

Your city lights shatter it all

Your day as my hope for something new

Your smile as perfect as a poem

Your last grasp like the end of a season

Your last touch was just me in you

Your last look the final cut

Your last everything was my first anything

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.