Poets logo

Planting Trees with the Children

We share the same time, but different futures

By Thavien YliasterPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Planting Trees with the Children
Photo by Jonathan Kemper on Unsplash

I ate the flesh of apples to fill my hunger's needs

I ate down to their cores and collected all their seeds

I put their seeds in bags, with towels that were wet

I stored them in my fridge, with alarms to not forget

By nrd on Unsplash

The seeds did start to grow

Over time, and slow

I only take them out

If their tap roots start to sprout

By imso gabriel on Unsplash

I had several planted

My last ones I took for granted

These ones got their own pots

They grew quickly, and shot straight up

By Francesco Gallarotti on Unsplash

For some weeks inside, they sat on my window sill

They grew fast and tall, like trees up on a hill

After a while, I took them all outside

They grew up towards the sun, so far they haven't died

By Johann Siemens on Unsplash

After working out, from my job I got home

I walked up to the children, in the green grass they did roam

I asked them for their help, I asked them with a "please."

They shook their heads and smiled, we planted several trees

By Adrian Swancar on Unsplash

We picked up several sticks and dug into the ground

We even dug with our hands, we dug all around

The children held the trees, then planted with their hands

We covered up with dirt and soil, we covered up with land

By Gabriel Jimenez on Unsplash

They wanted to raise them up, for their own community

We talked and japed and joked, I'm glad that they communed with me

After planting, they went grabbed the water

Though summer's ending, the afternoons are getting hotter

By David Ballew on Unsplash

We set up sticks around the trees, to show that they are growers

We set up sticks around the trees, to not get chopped by lawn mowers

They watered the trees with glee, they were happy to give them drinks

How often they needed to be watered, the answer wasn't hard to think

By Elias Null on Unsplash

They asked me about the apples, "Will we get them soon?"

I told them about the apples, "In three years they will bloom."

They wanted to eat some apples, they waved to me and said

"You could be a teacher," I laughed and shook my head

By Nathan Hulsey on Unsplash

The play area was like a valley, filled with grass so green

The play area's a small valley, a child's living dream

The trees are in the valley, the trees I grew from seeds

The trees are in the valley, we made sure to pull their weeds

By Alexander Grey on Unsplash

A few trees have now been planted, our labor has been sewn

A few trees have now been planted, like the children they have grown

The trees have now been planted, when I came home from the gym

The trees have now been planted, we wait for fruit now from their limbs

By name_ gravity on Unsplash

childrens poetrynature poetryslam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Thavien Yliaster

Thank You for stopping by. Please, make yourself comfortable. I'm a novice poet, fiction writer, and dream journalist.

Instagram

YouTube

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.