Poets logo

Plane Spotting

Surviving winter...

By Lena FolkertPublished 6 months ago β€’ Updated 6 months ago β€’ 1 min read
5
Plane Spotting
Photo by Leio McLaren on Unsplash

A light twinkles in the distance,

and like a moth,

I stand transfixed.

It separates itself from the other stars,

slowly streaking across the expanse,

and with it my heart soars.

My eyes blur as I float,

carried on its wings,

other places, other times.

Flutters fill my being as I grow wings of my own,

I see myself there--

nervously bouncing one leg then the other,

stuffing another piece of cinnamon gum into my mouth.

The sweet juice fills my mouth,

a slight burn on my tongue,

memories of my childhood flashing--

red hots, fireballs, apple cider.

Spice to fill the summers with fun,

and the winters with warmth.

The lights flicker briefly,

and a soft ding punctuates the silence

as the Captain speaks,

his tone infectiously chipper.

"Lovely day to fly, clear skies,

and waiting ahead,

a sunny day with a mild breeze."

My eyes flit to my feet,

the heavy winter coat draping over my toes,

the hat and gloves sticking out from my purse--

finally feeling warm, I close my eyes,

sink into my seat.

Sunny day, mild breeze--

clear skies ahead.

I sigh, cinnamon filling the recycled air,

burning my eyes with fiery tears.

My eyes snap open--

only darkness above,

and darkness around.

I blink the tears away,

no cinnamon spice or recycled air--

only frosty breath and circle around the moon.

My eyes flit to my feet,

the heavy winter blanket melting,

pulling me into the icy abyss

one toe at a time.

I sink into the snow,

accepting my fate.

I sigh frosty breath,

and look to the skies--

anytime now,

another twinkle,

another place.

nature poetry
5

About the Creator

Lena Folkert

Alaskan Grown Freelance Writer 🀍 Lover of Prose

Former Deckhand & Barista 🀍 Always a Pleaser & Eggshell-Walker

Lifelong Animal Lover & Whisperer 🀍 Ever the Student & Seeker

Traveler 🀍 Dreamer 🀍 Wanderer

Happily Lost 🀍 Luckily in Love

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Atlantica6 months ago

    Let's interact with each otherπŸ‘ great

  • This was so dreamy and melancholic! Loved how you included all the senses! Beautiful poem!

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Superbly written!!! Love it!!!

  • I'm guessing even I might get tired of an Alaskan winter & long to be somewhere else long before spring arrives. As much as I love fall & winter, you had to have captured those long frozen nights powerfully for me already to be longing for spring, Lena.

  • I love taking this flight with you

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.