Poets logo

Plague Of The Mind

Fears, Hopes and Dreams

By Briana MariePublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Plague Of The Mind
Photo by Mathew Schwartz on Unsplash

I like to sit outside in the late evening and at night,

It’s nice and quiet with distant sounds of children’s laughter,

Or the sounds of birds flapping their wings and communicating to their loved ones.

Sometimes it is nice and warm and sometimes it is just a little bit cooler

Than normal, which is appreciated here in the desert.

I might see a few stars or no stars, and there are times

Where I don’t even catch the moon.

Maybe a slight breeze goes by or maybe it’s completely and utterly still for me.

Or maybe I find my brain swirling with many

Different worries and concerns.

Is it my future I am pondering, or maybe my present?

Is it my own loved ones, or perhaps loved ones I have lost.

Maybe it’s my fear of failure creeping up on me again

As I try and crawl on my knees for a little solitude.

Or could it be the fear of the unknown for the upcoming months or years of my life?

How can any of us know we will be okay,

Or maybe we end up destitute, alone and fearing for our verv lives?

How can I know where I will end up, I have no answers for where I am at,

What I’m doing or where I will be going.

I’ve no answers, just worries and fears, hopes and dreams.

Who will I become, and when? How will I get there, how will I know?

These are some of the things that plague my mind in the night.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Briana Marie

Hi all! I'm Briana Marie and welcome to my page

Here you'll find stories about fantasy and romance, action and adventure.

Writing is truly a passion of mine and I'm honored to share it withyou

Happy reading

~BM

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.