Poets logo

PIRATE SCHOOL

JOHN E STERLING

By John E. Sterling.Published 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

PIRATE SCHOOL

April 8, 2009 at 9:44 PM

PIRATE SCHOOL.

BY JOHN E.STERLING.

I'm all asleep in my bed,

Dragons flying through my head.

Then seven thirty, that dreaded call,

"Come on Johnny, it's time for school."

"I hate that place, it makes me sick."

"You have to go or you'll end up thick."

They're driving me there in their car,

front seat to back seat, it seems so far.

Stern faces and grey are waiting for me, ready to trample all of my glee.

But where is the School? it's not there! over night did it fade into air?

And there tall and proud, sails a'whip, in a glistening dock floats a grand pirate ship.

My parents' saw nothing, they sent me away, all that they said was, "have a nice day."

I ran to the gangplank instead of the gate,

the first thing I heard was, "hello there mate"

In place of the teachers was what's known as a crew,

no principal here, just Captain Pehru.

My uniform went, it made me say 'cripes'

where once had been grey, now there were stripes.

"The first thing we do," said captain Pehru,

"is load up on chocolate and soda and swords."

We really worked hard, the stuff weighed a ton, I looked at my sword, it shone in the sun.

"Let loose those lines," the first mate cried,

"weigh up the anchor, we'll make the first tide.

Now we are sailing cutting through swell, the wind blows my hair, it's the sea I can smell.

The Captain scrunched his scope and said, "allright you bunch, Ive sighted an island, we'll stop there for lunch.

Searching for treasure and eating our stuff,

jumping in pools and acting all tough.

Sitting in trees, we sharpened our swords, when up went the cry,

"all hands aboard!"

"We have to make way, bad news," said skip.

"To the West we have sighted the dread pirate ship."

Their flag was like ours, all boney and skull, but painted in red, the blood of a gull.

"Hoist up the mainsail, pull on those lines,"

"make for the mainland, we haven't much time."

Now we could hear the shouts from the crew, they're getting closer, what would we do?

Then from their cannons we heard a great blast,

"Hard aport," cried the first mate, "hard aport fast!"

The turn made made the wood creak, I heard the sea hiss,

they loaded again bound not to miss.

"Now what do we do?" shouted Captain Pehru.

"Hold up your broadswords, hold them up high, capture the sun and dazzle their eyes."

Blinded by solar and expressing their grief, their ship came about and hit a large reef.

Everyone cheered and danced around with glee.

"An excellent plan, bring the planner to me."

It was the skip who had spoke, and I was the bloke.

He said, "Here's a tot of dark rum, but don't tell your Mum."

We sailed for port singing our songs, by the time we had docked our shadows were long.

I saluted the crew and then they were gone.

my parents asked "Johnny, how was your day?"

"We sailed adventure, what could I say?"

Lit Author:

John E Sterling

childrens poetry
Like

About the Creator

John E. Sterling.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.