Poets logo

pilther my tears

Poem. Warning, it's sad...

By Paul StewartPublished about a month ago 1 min read
10
pilther my tears
Photo by Pierre Bamin on Unsplash

pilther my tears, as they dampen everything

(no longer mine)

lock them away

(all of time)

in your soul

as you fade

ever so gently

steel my grief, as it enriches everything

(always be mine)

cage it shut

(all of time)

in my hole

as you burn

ever so brightly

memorialise yourself, you were your everything

(ours, now)

in my mind

you live on

forever

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: While I work on my couple of things for the March Madness challenge for Write Club, the Whispering Woods thing I have, and a few other things...here is a not so cheery, but rather honest poem.

You may also like these:

Free Versesocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetryheartbreak
10

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • D.K. Shepardabout a month ago

    Loved the use of the parenthetical lines, almost like resonating echoes throughout! Beautifully wrought, Paul!

  • John Coxabout a month ago

    This is a raw and powerful elegy, Paul. Really beautifully written and full of honest and desperate feeling. It moved me.

  • Jess Boyesabout a month ago

    Beautifully written, and yes, quite sad.

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    Well, you did warn us.

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    I think there's something wrong with me because I didn't find that sad. But it was so beautifully written!

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Melancholy but was warned!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Where we find ourselves some time long after grief has found cause to rise within & pummel us.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.