Poets logo

Pieces of Home

Pieces of Home

By Moments Like ThesePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Pieces of Home
Photo by Ryan Holloway on Unsplash

Home is the old Steinberg piano, with the high D a little sharper than it ought to be. A little like me.

It's the road I used to know well, though there's a new billboard on it now; the promise of problems solved, for a price. The problems change, so does the price, but the earth beneath it does not.

It's the climbing rose that pricks and grabs as you pass; it only hurts sometimes, when I think of what's buried beneath, with a red plastic frisbee surely faded to orange fragments by now. But my heart is learning to smile about him.

Home is a familiar, lip-biting smile in a sea of strangers' faces. A flash of enamel reflecting strobing neon, cutting through the noise and colour in a way my thoughts could not.

It's a steadying touch on my arm, a murmured word in a darkened theatre that tells me I'm still here.

Home is the number that you call, when you're all alone on a cold street corner, collar pushed up against the rain.

Home is you.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Moments Like These

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.