Poets logo

Piece 3

The Villain and the Hero

By Curiosity .Published 6 years ago 2 min read
Like
Canvas, JJ. The Girl and the Dragon. 2014.

I remember the past. I remember you. I remember who I used to be, who I wanted to be. Those two, the person I was and the person I wasn't, they were in a constant and brutal battle. Though it didn't last, it seemed as though the battle went on for ages.

Who would win? Would it be the daring, violent, craving Beast that could collect more gold than any being could hope for? Or would it be the kind, obedient, caring Girl, who could routinely abide to the needs of others?

Now that we've parted, the two are coming to terms. I see them on the battlefield, surrounded by the scars they created for one another, reminded of the trials they've been through.

They're laughing. They find it absurd that they would ever go to such lengths to attempt to destroy one another, when they were stronger together.

They've but one more trial ahead.

The decision has been made. The Beast and the Girl were meant to be partners. They were built to be each other's compliment. But who was the villain? Who was in the wrong? Were they both each other's villain in their deathly battles with one another? Or were they both the hero?

"There was only one hero," says the Sky.

"Well who was it?" grumbles the Beast.

"I know we have already made our settlement, but I believe we are meant to decide for ourselves," states the Girl.

The Beast looked astonished by the Girl's candor, and threw it back at her, "I could not have been in the wrong. The two of us can only benefit if I am leading."

Scared, the Girl looked to the sky for help, begging in the few seconds she knew she had before the Beast struck her with its eyes of fire, ready to scrape away whatever strength she had left. "Please help me see the way," she willed towards the vast blue above her.

So tell me, who was the Villain? Who was in the wrong?

The thing is, the Hero is never designated within a story. It's not predestined. It's a continuous revolution.

The funny thing is, the Girl and the Beast don't know it yet.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Curiosity .

I write short stories, and reviews on short stories.

Thanks for taking the time to read my material!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.