Poets logo

Pictures.

Poetry about memories

By Isabella RenteriaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Pictures.
Photo by Soragrit Wongsa on Unsplash

Remember how we used to fill our rooms

With pictures of us

Or a single with either one of us

Either way, we still kept them

Despite out things crowding them

We would always try to find a way

To fit them all into one space or another

As the years went by

They became discolored with time

You were withering away in the photos

But I stayed the same as always

Maybe pictures are the only way to tell us

How much the person has changed

A soft smile was on my lips

When I look at the old pictures of us

Because they remind me of the old days

When we’d laugh and smile together

I remember them as if they were yesterday

Your bright smile shone in the darkness

And it hurts to know that you’re gone

We drifted apart years ago

My heart still breaks each time

I look at the pictures of you and I

Because it’s such a painful reminder

To know that those were only memories.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Isabella Renteria

"Painting is silent poetry, and poetry is painting that speaks." - Plutarch

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.