Poets logo

Piano Keys

A Burning Globe

By Poppy Published 11 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
14
Image Created with Midjourney

The word heartbreak has midnight eyes and a presence like gravity. The word heartbreak is synonymous with the word you.

You tattooed my memories with good times and then gouged them out like a careless carpenter ravaging sandalwood.

Do you remember?

You found the soft spots of my heart and pressed down on them like piano keys. And, masochistic as I am, all I could do was admire the music.

My whole world fit perfectly into your hands. You held it without realising and I watched it spin, growing dizzy, disorientated, desolate.

Do you remember?

(No, you wouldn’t.)

No matter how much of the globe catches on fire and burns, you will never know if you are blind and deaf to it, not if there is somehow no smoke.

I was in front of you, coming apart like a jigsaw puzzle. And you were standing there cluelessly, admiring the sunset behind me.

I regurgitated my feelings onto the page. The letters tangled like knots in windswept hair. Here they are, my pain penned on a page; pointless.

❀❀❀❀❀

Wasted Love

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
14

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock11 months ago

    Suffering alone & in silence, the heartbreak of which the object of our affections/obsessions is very likely completely unaware.

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    You painted that picture too well! And these lines were just breathtakingly beautiful and tragic, "You found the soft spots of my heart and pressed down on them like piano keys. And, masochistic as I am, all I could do was admire the music." Gorgeous work, Poppy!!

  • Perfectly poignant poem!!! I love it. Beautifully written.

  • J. Delaney-Howe11 months ago

    Great work! I have been in a similliar situation. So relatable to me.

  • This was absolutely brilliant loved every line

  • C.R. Hughes11 months ago

    I know this feeling too well. I love the analogies in this poem. The line that stuck out to me the most was "You found the soft spots of my heart and pressed down on them like piano keys. And, masochistic as I am, all I could do was admire the music." Definitely one of the best lines I've ever read. Beautifully written ❤️

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    Wonderfully penned and sooo emotional -- amazing job, Poppy! 🥹❤️

  • C.Z.11 months ago

    You conveyed a lot of pain here, great job.

  • Sometimes there is no smoke- ❤️😉📝 Great job on this ✨

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.