Poets logo

Photo book

By YMPublished about a year ago 1 min read

At a cafe, hair tampered by sweat and water.

Froth of a hot chocolate on my lips, warm and warm and warm.

Forceful smiles, like a puppet with the most reluctant puppeteer.

Bare faced with vulnerability suffocating my skin, violets choking me with wishful intentions.

Watching with nothingness in the lick of his slim slimy lips, greased over with pride and one note of repulse.

—I remember it all, all of it and all of it.

Each picture an inch closer.

Each gesture a wink further.

Each laugh, a weight heavier.

The wooden being we dined on knew of the fate I had.

Uneven feet, heat rolling through my shoes to my head,

a shirt I'll never wear again.

An empty plate, but a hunger who summoned all the things of pain,

and a photo book to corrupt my brain- black plague.

Plagued and cut and stuck.

On the frames of my chest, walls of carvings between train tracks

and frail scaffolds the summer wind could blow over.

sad poetrynature poetry

About the Creator

YM

I write poetry

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    YMWritten by YM

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.