Poets logo

Pet Cemetery

Poem

By Desmond RazzanoPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

They say what’s dead to us only we should bury.

Gotta kill a bird with two stones instead.

The weight of the dirt is too much to carry.

I’d put you in the ground that brings you back to life again.

Your body resurrects, but the soul is too far gone.

Better off dead, but my love is far too strong.

When I heard you died, it hurt me to my core.

I looked into your eyes, it wasn’t you anymore.

The cold Earth is sour, whatever rises ain’t the same.

Gotta bury the hatchet and bones together.

Your conscience rewires, and now you’re inhumane.

Your body may live, but you’re dead inside forever.

You’ve been hit by a car, now you have a loose bone.

Here lies your pet cemetery tombstone.

No, they didn’t see you, too busy on their cell phone.

Next time I hear your voice, I’ll only hear a dead tone.

They say what hasn’t killed you made you so much stronger.

But no one said invincible.

Your lungs no longer breathe, your wounds no longer bleed.

The pigment in your skin has now become invisible.

Loved you too much to ever let you go.

I’d dig your grave, throw you in, then reap what I sow.

Another night without you is what I cannot bear.

I can’t kill what’s already dead, but I don’t really care.

The land is sour, it’s time to face the bitter truth.

If I’ve lost you, what more have I to lose?

Bury you once shame on God, twice, shame on me.

If just to say goodbye, hello, pet cemetery.

surreal poetrysocial commentarysad poetrynature poetryheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Desmond Razzano

My name is Desmond, and I have a love and passion for writing of all kinds, especially poetry! Most of the content I write about reflects more of my experiences and my pain, and my joy! Every entry or story I post was written by me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.