Poets logo

Perspective

Happiness is found through change

By Alexandra ProhoroffPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

I wonder if I should be taking the medication that my friends say keep the dark clouds away

However I think the dark clouds are necessary, as the rain must pour for the green to grow

If I were to share with you my secret, how to see life in it’s loveliness would you stay?

Would you dismiss it like others before, as surely anyone in a state is just for show

Change the way you see and you’ll change the way you feel.

I’m told the only emotions anyone should want are good and positive vibes

I’m seeing that too much sunshine in everyone’s eyes are leaving them blind

But I see the light in the dark, the flowers in the cracks and the glittering lies

Change is something hard to embrace, while our comfort kills us, leaving a narrow mind

Change the way you see and you’ll change the way you feel.

May you take more walks to find the paths you didn’t know were there

May you see all the wild flowers and their different colours of hair

May you experience kindness from a man who has no reason to give it

And may you return it in simple gestures to those who have not received it

Change the way you see and you’ll change the way you feel.

Now you see the good from the sad, as the rain washes out all the mud from the mind

Now you know too much sun and no rain is a desert for you heart; leaving only dust behind

Now you see that happiness is made from the acts of selflessness from your talents

Now you know that your gifts are what make you glow bright in the darkness revealing true balance

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Alexandra Prohoroff

I’m a very amateur writer just trying to find a way to make my words to sing aloud for you the same way they do for me.

Still uncertain of my place in this world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.